PWCBA Manassas, Virginia

Arthur von Keller Pro Bono/Volunteer Attorney-of-the-Year Award

In 2003, the PWCBA established the Pro Bono Attorney of the Year Award to recognize attorneys for their dedication to the development and delivery of pro bono legal services to those in need. The attorney honored with this award may have helped to organize a program through which pro bono legal services were delivered to the public, or may have provided direct pro bono legal representation on behalf of the poor. In 2013, this award was renamed the Pro Bono/Volunteer Attorney-of-the-Year Award to provide for the recognition of those attorneys who are dedicated to community service. The PWCBA Pro Bono Committee conducts the nomination and selection process for this award. It is given at the annual Bench Bar Dinner Dance.

In 2021, this award was renamed the Arthur von Keller Pro Bono/Volunteer-Attorney of-the-Year Award to honor Mr. von Keller for his many years of dedicated service to the development and delivery of Pro Bono legal services to those in need. Mr. von Keller approached the Executive Board of the PWCBA in 1995 to request the creation of a new standing committee called the Pro Bono Committee. Upon the board’s approval this committee was created, and Arthur “Rusty” von Keller was the first to chair this committee and served as such for many years.

Pro Bono/Volunteer Attorney-of-the-Year Award Recipients

  • 2021    Arthur von Keller, IV
  • 2020    Azadeh A. Malek and Mark Hunter Branca
  • 2019    Andrea Morisi
  • 2018    Timothy Aiken
  • 2017    Jonathan N. Francis and Anna Bristle
  • 2016    Douglas Bradley Marshall
  • 2015    Phillip J. Menke
  • 2014     Patrick V. Foltz
  • 2013    Jennifer B. Zary

Pro Bono Attorney-of-the-Year Award Recipients

  • 2012    Tracey A. Lenox and John D. Primeau
  • 2011    Turkessa B. Rollins
  • 2010    Mark Voss
  • 2009    Amy Mirabile
  • 2008    No award given
  • 2007    Tracy C. Hudson
  • 2006    Kathleen Latham Farrell
  • 2005    Barbara Murphy Stough
  • 2004    Robert M. Cooper, Jr.
  • 2003    Arthur Von Keller, IV
  • 2002    E. Allen Newcomb


Photos of PWCBA Members and activities around Manassas, Virginia 2021 and 2022